TEXAS OPEN

The Easter weekend found me travelling to the United States of America for the very first time. I left Cape Town on Friday the 2nd of April at 3pm, arrived in New York around 7am (USA time, 5 hours behind South Africa), then had the whole day to kill before I caught my flight to Houston, Texas at about 7pm, only to arrive at midnight in Houston (7 hours behind SA). That meant i spent the day walking around all the famous streets of Manhattan, and rested my weary feet in Central Park, where people seemed to be enjoying the sun, picnicking, jogging (like we always see in the movies) and having quality time with their families.

Easter Sunday was beautiful. I woke up very early, contrary to the jet-leg syndrome, and decided to join my lovely host family in attending the Easter church service. I also went to visit the biggest church in America, Lakewood Church (which this week finally purchased the 16000 seater stadium that they have been using for the last 8 years). Incredible!!

I tested out the squash courts afterwards, just to get the legs moving. Soon after this, i could feel my body was needing it’s sleep again. There are two other South Africans in the tournament: Tenille Swartz and Adel Weir-Nunan. We will all be playing qualifiying matches on Tuesday.

1st Round Qualifiers: Tuesday 6th April

My Opponent: Elise Ng
Country: Hong Kong
World Ranking: No.52

Tenille’s Opponent: Carrie Hastings
Country: England
World Ranking: No.118

Adel’s Opponent: Alexandra Norman
Country: Canada
World Ranking: No.59

For the whole draw and daily updates, please visit: http://www.wispa.net and click on “Draws and Results”.

One Response to “TEXAS OPEN”

  1. Hi Siyoli
    A challenging start to the tournament – I’m sure you will play your best squash to date

    With love

    John

Leave a Reply

