TRAINING in NETHERLANDS

 

 

Saturday
I arrived form Germany via rail, with full knowledge that my first training sesssion would begin 30 minutes after my arrival. This consisted of some skill drills with Dagmar and match practice with some local male players, Stephan & Karel.

 Sunday
This is quite a busy day in the club. A 45 minute spinning class with Dagmar started my day. Somehow I have managed to avoid this kind of torture all my life. The fear has been overcome! It is a great workout, especially for low impact on the joints.

One of the popular modes of transport here in this town is bicycles. So, these muscles do need some direct training. My cycle to the club is 20min. Sunday was a fun day of figuring out my way around Zwolle. A match with a former Dutch Men’s Top 10 player was played later.

Monday
Another 45 minute spinning class started my day, this time with another trainer called Bas.  The intensity was higher, and in the last 3 minutes, my legs no longer wanted to “climb any hills”!!!

That session was soon followed by a solo session, and later, shot specific training with Stephan.

In the afternoon, we had a pliometrics session. This involves a series of exercises and jumps using a floor laddder, skipping rope, differently heighted hurdles, a medicine ball,  just to name a few. One hour and half later, i was very ready to go home and lie with my feet in the air!

Tuesday
The 5th of May is a very important day on the Dutch Calendar as it marks their day of independence after the second world war. The city of Zwolle was chosen to host the celebrations festival which would see over 150 000 people come and watch various bands play.

In the morning, i was joined by the 19 year old Edwin for my solo session, just to show him more effective ways of training by himself.
I later played a match vs Dagmar and won 3-1.

Wednesday
REST DAY with some pilates stretching in the evening.

Leave a Reply

